Final List of Peer Reviewers

Consistent with guidelines for the peer review of highly influential scientific assessments,EPA tasked a contractor (Versar, Inc.) to assemble six to seven experts to evaluate the draft documents. Versar evaluated 29 candidates who were either nominated during a previous public comment period (February 28, 2014 to March 21, 2014) or were identified by Versar to augment the list of publically-nominated candidates. Versar narrowed the list of potential reviewers to 15 candidates and solicited public comments on the interim list on April 30, 2014 ( Using the selection criteria described in the Federal Register dated February 28, 2014 ( Versar selected the final seven peer reviewers who, collectively,best provide expertise spanning the multiple subject matter areas covered by the draft documents and, to the extent feasible,best provide a balance of perspectives. Additional information on the scientific peer reviewer selection process can be found at:

The final list of seven selected peer reviewers is provided below.

1. Dr. James Bruckner – University of Georgia
2. Dr. Deborah Cory-Slechta – University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry
3. Dr. Jamie DeWitt – East Carolina University
4. Dr. Jeffrey Fisher – U.S. Food & Drug Administration
5. Dr. William Hayton – The Ohio State University (Emeritus)
6. Dr. Matthew Longnecker – National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences
7. Dr. Angela Slitt – University of Rhode Island

EPA requests that no individual or organization contact in any way the contractor (Versar) or the peer reviewers regarding the subject of the peer review meeting, send them written materials regarding the subject of the meeting, or make any offers or requests to any of them that appear to be linked to their participation in the peer review. The reviewers have been directed to report any such contacts to the Contractor (Versar), who will take appropriate action in consultation with EPA to ensure the independence and impartiality of the peer review.